Camborne win Royal Trophy

- News - |
Camborne Town Band

The sun shone and the sun shone and the sun shone some more and there was a real ‘feelgood’ factor at our 90th annual contest today. Crowds flocked to Molinnis Park and all was well with the brass band community of Cornwall and beyond as 30 bands thrilled the spectators with a wonderful day of music making.

Top honours and the Royal Trophy went to Camborne for their rendition of ‘Connotations’. It was the 37th time that they have come out on top at our event.They were returning to Bugle after a two year absence.

Full results

Championship Section

Test Piece ‘Connotations’

1st Camborne Town 193
2nd St Dennis 192
3rd St Austell 191

March ‘The Contestor’

1st St Dennis 193
2nd St Austell 192
3rd Camborne Town 191

Best Player Lee Wylde – Cornet (St Dennis)

First Section

Test Piece ‘Spectrum’

1st Roche Brass 194
2nd Yeovil Town 191
3rd Pendennis Brass 190

Hymn ‘Colne’

1sr Roche Brass 193
2nd Yeovil Town 190
3rd Pendennis Brass 189

Best Player Kevin Robbins – Cornet (Yeovil Town)

Second Section

Test Piece ‘Penlee’

1st Bodmin Town 192
2nd Forest of Dean 189
3rd Bugle Silver 188

Hymn ‘Alleluya, Sing to Jesus’

1st Forest of Dean
2nd Bodmin Town
3rd Bugle Silver

Best Player Craig Wintle – Cornet (Forest of Dean)

Third Section

Test Piece ‘St Austell Suite’

1st Jubilee Brass (Oxford) 190
2nd Heyl Town 187
3rd Tadley Concert Brass 186

Best Player Laura Matthews – Flugel (Heyl)

Fourth Section

Test Piece ‘Little Suite for Brass No 1

1st Camborne Junior Contest 188
2nd Tadley Concert Brass 186
3rd Jubilee Brass (Oxford) 184

Best Player Abbey Roberts – Cornet (Camborne Junior Contest)

Youth Section

1st Mount Charles 180
2nd St Austell 178
3rd St Dennis 170

Best Player Daniel Sloggett – Trombone (Mount Charles)

Best Cornet Player Jacob Griffiths (St Austell)

Winning Conductor Jane Whitehead (Mount Charles)

Training Section

1st St Stythians 175
2nd Soundhouse 170
3rd St Newlyn East 165

Best Player Tobias Evans – Percussion (St Stythians)

Best Cornet Player Oscar Wells (St Stythians)

Special Awards (Open to all Sections)

Best Soprano Les Kneebone (Camborne Town)
Best Solo Cornet Lee Wilde (St Dennis)
Best Euphonium Robert Jose (Roche Brass)
Best Solo Horn Joanna Scott (Camborne Town)
Best Set of Basses Camborne Town


1st Okehampton Excelsior Silver 35
2nd Bugle Silver 34

A.R.Trudgian Youth Awards

Megan Thomas (Bugle Silver)
Thomas Howard (St Austell)

Adjudicators Ian Porthouse and David Marshall

Get Updates